Thought for Thursday

Image

Everybody cries sometimes, and if you don’t you should. Crying is a natural way of letting go of pent up emotions. It is sad fact that many children are shamed for crying. Adults who are led to believe that crying is not OK may repress their feeling of sadness. Emotions that are not allowed to release tend to leak out in other areas of their lives. The ability to express our emotions whether alone or in communication to others is necessary for a happy life.

Image

β€œHeaven knows we need never be ashamed of our tears, for they are rain upon the blinding dust of earth, overlying our hard hearts. I was better after I had cried, than before–more sorry, more aware of my own ingratitude, more gentle.”
-Charles Dickens,Β Great Expectations-

Image

~DarcSunshine~

4 thoughts on “Thought for Thursday

  1. Good point.
    It is good to cry it out.
    But you know what?
    I cannot cry.
    I haven’t cried for a long time, no matter how messed up and low I feel.
    My psych doc once told me, that when I will be able to cry, it would mean that I am doing better and letting all the negative emotions out.
    So far, it didn’t happen.
    I wish it was. 😦

    Like

    • I understand to some degree. My 18 year old son never cries. He says he doesn’t feel like he can. Not because he isn’t allowed to, but he just can’t. He goes to therapy (we both do) and we are hoping it helps. He just started so we are crossing our fingers. I’m glad I came across your blog. You have a new follower πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Hi DarcSunshine!

        Sorry to hear that you and your son have the same problems. 😦

        Although I’m glad that you’re my new follower (thank you so much!), it would be nicer if we blogged about the birds, plants etc.

        But, we are here to talk (write) to each other, share experiences, and learn something new that can help us on our recovery path.

        I hope you agree. πŸ™‚

        And as for the crying part..ah, I wish that I could.

        Someday it will happen and then the Niagara falls will be nothing in comparison to me. πŸ˜€

        Stay strong! Positive vibes are heading your way! πŸ™‚

        Like

Leave a Reply

