Mental Gems:Diamonds In The Rough

image

“People have a hard time letting go of their suffering. Out of a fear of the unknown, they prefer suffering that is familiar.” .

Here’s the process I used to let go of the distractions and false needs that cause procrastination:

1. I paid attention to the pain they cause me, later, instead of only the temporary comfort/pleasure they gave me right away.

2. I thought about the person I want to be, the life I want to live. I set my intentions to do the good work I think I should do.

3. I watched my urges to check things, to go to the comfort of distractions. I saw that I wanted to escape discomfort of something hard, and go to the comfort of something familiar and easy.

4. I realized I didn’t need that comfort. I could be in discomfort and nothing bad would happen. In fact, the best things happen when I’m in discomfort.

And then I smile, and breathe, and let go.

And one step at a time, become the person I want to be.

“You can only lose what you cling to.” ~Buddha

3 thoughts on “Mental Gems:Diamonds In The Rough

  1. Those are awesome steps and a wonderful post. And if I haven’t said it before, you have a great blog! 🙂

    Like

  2. I appreciate this post. I’m glad you can do this. I learned to do this and now it’s no imposition to do it. I love myself more and I know there is no one I can thrive without.

    Like

  3. Thank you both for your insight and kind words!

    Like

Leave a Reply

